Movie Night

I often disgust myself with my obsession with romantic movies (see here) and tonight was no exception. I watched The Romantics (I know… how apropos!) and if you’re wondering why you’ve never heard of it, it’s because it didn’t get great reviews and was one of those indie flicks they only play in select theaters. Personally, I found the movie to be kind of beautiful and it had quite a few winning moments, like this line:

“Unrequited love is the perfect romantic construct. It allows two cowardly people to act out a fantasy of love without having to face any real consequences.”

and this one too…

“Because that’s what friends do. They fall in love with each other. And then they fall out of love. And they fall back in love. And this happens over and over again for the rest of their lives.”

Overall, it had some scenes that were well done but it had a pretty terrible ending. To put on my Ebert & Roper “hat” for a moment, I’d say it’s definitely worth the watch – if not for the ridiculously sappy and crafted dialogue, than certainly for the kitschy soundtrack.

3 responses to “Movie Night

  1. I just rented The Romantics this weekend. I agree- the ending wasn’t great.

Leave a Reply

