Loving and Leaving

It’s been far too long since my last post and to that fact, I can only say that I’ve been very, very busy. School and my internship ended exactly a month ago and while that should’ve freed up my time exponentially, I’ve been in whirlwind ever since. My part-time (albeit amazing) job has dominated most of my time; our grand opening in Grand Central happened two weeks before Christmas and due to the nature of the season, I was working forty-hour weeks (note: I loved those gorgeous paychecks). I was also commuting from Long Island because I, sadly, moved out of my little Manhattan hideaway – so. tack on an additional two hours to my already long 9-hour days and you get a very tired Jenna with not a lot of free time.

Regardless of the little time I was getting at home, I can honestly say that the past few months, especially this last one, at my job have been my lifeline and the incredible people I met there have really restructured my thoughts on going abroad. My last day at work was Friday and when I walked into work early in the day, I wasn’t sure they were going to take me back upon my return to the states; by the end of the day, my doubts were quashed and my managers, my coworkers – my friends were all saying they’d see me in May. They are truly great people with greater hearts than most. My only upset with them is that they are simply more faces and personalities I will miss when I take off.

However, despite my missing them, they have (re)taught me the valuable lesson that new people are only new for so long before they become friends and loved ones. So, my countdown begins – seven more days until I meet the friends and loved ones of my future.

Leave a Reply

