Can We All Stop Drinking And Driving?

I’ve come to terms with the fact that there are a lot of things in this world I will never understand. I know that I will never fully grasp why Nutella is so delicious or why my dog insists on barging into my room at precisely 4am most mornings. However, I have NOT come to terms with why some people in this world seem insistent on drunk driving.

Now, I know there are already many fantastic organizations advocating that drivers should not drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol so there’s really no need for me to stand on my soapbox and preach. That said, I still feel it necessary to discuss my incredulity after hearing that two major celebrities have been arrested for DUI this week… and it’s only Tuesday. My issue is that the two celebrities in question – Amanda Bynes and Michael Phelps – are no strangers to the media circus. With Bynes having been in and out of rehab and Phelps’ marijuana-gate scandal, you’d have thought that the two would have been wise enough to do anything possible to avoid being the center of attention yet again.

I will be the first to say that I fully understand that there are inner demons that many celebrities deal with and it is — sometimes — egregiously unfair to fault these media personalities for their mistakes. They are, after all, human beings just like you and I. But taking those instances out of the equation and zeroing in on just the drinking and driving, why does this keep happening? Where is that two seconds of thought that should indicate, “No, maybe it’s a bad idea to do this again”?
Look, I’ve been drunk before. I’ve been there at the end of the night without a clue as to how I’m getting home. We all get reckless – such is life. But why is it so difficult to call a cab? Or phone a friend? Is pride really that important of an emotion that you’re unwilling to sacrifice it to preserve your life as well as the lives of others?
The issue here isn’t alcoholism. It’s narcissism. Driving drunk is selfish and it is especially so when you’re a celebrity. The excuse that there wasn’t someone to come and get you doesn’t fly when you’re a huge name. Nor does the excuse that you couldn’t afford the cab fare or that you didn’t want to leave your car somewhere overnight. None of these excuses cut it because there are no excuses to drink and drive.
I do not know Amanda Bynes or Michael Phelps personally and I truly do not mean to vilify them without cause. I simply feel that in a world where everything is looked at under a microscope, to be so negligent in your actions is not only wholly irresponsible but it’s – frankly – stupid. Do yourself a favor, celebrities and ordinary people of the world, don’t drink and drive.
Leave a Reply

